Cliff Notes Guide To Getting #Happiness Right

a trekker in the himalaya. Image shot 2010. Exact date unknown.

(The following excerpt from Cliff Notes Guide To Getting Happiness Right by Collen Long, Psy.D., recently appeared in psychology today.com. To view it in its entirety click on the link below.)

Believe it or not, as a psychologist who literally wrote the book on Happiness, I have to remind myself certain mantras that help me keep my own life in balance and my happiness sustained. I actually have a list on my phone that says “things to remember,” and page through it daily, when I’m feeling off track. This list of items are little gems, I’ve picked up along the way so far in my 34 years on the planet:

1) In silence, the heart begins to finish its unfinished business. 

2) Do more want-to’s vs. have-to’s every day.

3) Happiness is not the absence of problems, but the ability to deal with them.

4) Connection with others is key to fulfillment.

5) Like attracts like. Happy attracts happy.

6) To receive abundantly, ironically we must give abundantly.

7) Choose your thoughts like you choose your clothes.

8) Legitimately and truly don’t care about what others think or do.

9) Go out into the world with your heart, not your brain.

10) Relish in the remarkable ride.

 http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-happiness-rx/201408/cliff-notes-guide-getting-happiness-right

Leave a Reply

